Bryan Hulbert – BILLINGS, Mont. (July 16, 2019) Returning to Billings, Mont. for the first time since 2015, the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network will join with the Brodix ASCS Frontier Region at Big Sky Speedway on Friday, July 19 and Saturday, July 20.

The first two-night affair at the Montana oval for the series, the Battle at Big Sky Speedway is promoted by Track Enterprises. Formally known as Billings Motorsports Park, the track was purchased near the start of 2018 by Jerry Brey and Shane Liebig. The pair is the third set of owners since the Speedway opened in 2003 and since their purchase, have made major capital improvements to the facility.

Getting behind the wheel a couple of weeks ago with the Brodix ASCS Frontier Region, ASCS National Director, Matt Ward, stated the improvements made for a facility that was very inviting and clean.

“The facility was ok before, but what Jerry and Shane have done has really lifted it to a premier facility. The overall feel was inviting, and the track was in great shape. I’m looking forward to being on the other side of the fence as an official to see more of what they did and be able to watch.”

Three previous visits to the three-eighths-mile oval have just as many winners with the late Jason Johnson picking up the inaugural visit on July 9, 2013. Jeff Swindell followed on July 12, 2014, with Johnny Herrera finding Victory Lane on July 18, 2015.

Going into the two-night affair, Sam Hafertepe, Jr. is on a hot streak with his sixth victory of the season this past weekend at the NAPA of Montana Grizzly Nationals. Padding his point’s lead to 64 markers over John Carney II, the El Paso native has matched Hafertepe in top-five and top-ten appearances this season keep in the hunt for the season-ending $50,000 prize. Carny is also the leading Brodix National Rookie of the Year contender.

Trying to overcome a hiccup at the Brownfield Classic that set him back in the points, Blake Hahn sits third with 84 points to makeup. Matt Covington’s podium run this past weekend put him back to fourth with Scott Bogucki dropping to fifth after getting tangled up at Gallatin Speedway, but is still within striking distance at 118 points back. Roger Crockett holds sixth in tour standings with Robbie Price in tow. Harli White, Jordon Mallett, and Alex Hill make up the top ten with Tucker Doughty making up ground this past weekend on Hill to close within 18 points of cracking the top ten.

Friday, July 19 and Saturday, July 20 at Big Sky Speedway open at 5:00 P.M. with Racing at 7:25 P.M. (MT). Admission each night is $25 with kids 12 and under admitted free of change into the Grandstands. Fans can save $10 on two-day passes by purchasing in advance on Pit Passes are $35 per night and are sold at the event only.

Big Sky Speedway is located at mile marker 16 on Hwy 87 North to Roundup, Mont. More information and directions can be found at or by calling (406) 998-9636.

For other news, notes, and information on the American Sprint Car Series, from the National Tour to any of the nine Regional Tours that make up ASCS Nation in 2019, log onto, follow on Facebook, on Instagram, and on Twitter (@LucasOilASCS).

Quick View:

Who: Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series and ASCS Frontier Region
What: Battle at Big Sky Speedway
Where: Big Sky Speedway (Billings, Mont.)
When: July 19-20, 2019
Muffler: Open Headers
RACEceiver: 454.000

Times (all times listed are MDT)

Front Gate: 5:00 P.M.
Driver’s Meeting: 5:30 P.M.
Racing: 7:25 P.M.


Grandstands: $25/day, Kids 12 and under free
Pits: $35/day

Track Contact and Location

Phone: (406) 998-9636
Address: 11298 Roundup Rd, Shepherd, MT 59079

2019 National Tour Driver Standings (Top 15): 1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 2,148; 2. John Carney II 2,354; 3. Blake Hahn 2,334; 4. Matt Covington 2,323; 5. Scott Bogucki 2,300; 6. Roger Crockett 2,197; 7. Robbie Price 2,087; 8. Harli White 2,022; 9. Jordon Mallett 1,951; 10. Alex Hill 1,806; 11. Tucker Doughty 1,788; 12. Jamie Ball 1,063; 13. Seth Bergman 826; 14. Jason Solwold 633; 15. Colton Heath 604;

2019 Race Winners: Sam Hafertepe, Jr. – 6 (5/17 – I-96 Speedway; 5/18 – I-96 Speedway; 5/25 – Lake Ozark Speedway; 6/5 – Lawton Speedway; 6/8 – Salina Speedway; 7/12 – Gallatin Speedway); Scott Bogucki – 2 (6/14 – Brown County Speedway; 6/15 – Black Hills Speedway); Thomas Kennedy – 2 (4/25 – Eagle Raceway, 4/26 – U.S. 36 Raceway); John Carney II – 1 (5/26 – Lake Ozark Speedway); Travis Rilat – 1 (6/4 – Devil’s Bowl Speedway); Blake Hahn – 1 (6/20 – Skagit Speedway); Roger Crockett – 1 (6/21 – Skagit Speedway); Robbie Price – 1 (6/22 – Skagit Speedway); Devon Borden – 1 (6/28 – Grays Harbor Raceway); Matt Covington – 1 (6/29 – Grays Harbor Raceway);

Weather-Related Cancellations – 9: Devil’s Bowl Speedway (3/15 and 3/16); Williams Grove Speedway (5/3); Selinsgrove Speedway (5/4); Lakeside Speedway (5/9); I-30 Speedway (5/11); Route 66 Motor Speedway (6/1); Creek County Speedway (6/6); Gallatin Speedway (7/13)

ASCS Online:

American Sprint Car Series:
Twitter: (@lucasoilascs)
Instagram: LucasOilASCS
Audio Broadcast:
Live Scoring (Where Applicable): MRP Live

ASCS National Tour Drivers Online:

Jamie Ball (Knoxville, IA):
Seth Bergman (Snohomish, WA.):
Scott Bogucki (McLaren Vale, S. Aust.):
John Carney II (El Paso, TX):
Matt Covington (Glenpool, OK):
Roger Crockett (Broken Arrow, OK):
Tucker Doughty (Rockwall, TX):
Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (Sunnyvale, TX):
Blake Hahn (Sapulpa, OK):
Alex Hill (Six Nations, Ontario, Can.):
Jordon Mallett (Greenbrier, AR):
Chris Martin (Ankeny, IA):
Robbie Price (Cobble Hill, BC, Can.):
Harli White (Lindsay, OK):

ASCS Sponsors:

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at MAVTV Motorsports Network is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto for more information. is the official SawBlade of the American Sprint Car Series and title sponsor of every National Tour A-Feature as well as Victory Lane. For more information, log onto and follow along on Social Media at @SawBladecom on Twitter, on Instagram at Sawblade.com_, and on Facebook.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented the MAVTV Motorsports Network include Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix. All Heat Races are brought to you by SCE Gaskets. All B-Features are presented by BMRS.

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, Geico, SRI, General Tire, MAVTV Motorsports Network,, and General Tire.

All events are broadcast online at

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by SCE Gaskets, K&N Filters, BMRS, SpeedMart, Engler Machine and Tool, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers,, Weld Wheels, Maxwell Industries, Simpson, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, and Triple X Race, Co.