LucasOil_latemodel_logo2010White (150x122)

PONTOON BEACH, IL – Scott Bloomquist led all 100 laps to win tonight’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Spring Classic at Tri-City Speedway. Bloomquist was only challenged a few times by runner-up Jimmy Owens as he won for the second time in the last three LOLMDS races.

Trailing Bloomquist and Owens to the finish line were Randy Korte, Don O’Neal, and John Blankenship. On Saturday, May 3, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series heads to Paducah International Raceway for the Spring Shootout.

Bobby Pierce won the St. Louis U-Pic-A-Part 100 at Macon Speedway Thursday to start the three-day weekend swing.

“Our Sweet-Bloomquist car has been strong all year long, we struggled a little last night, but tonight was a different story. It has been awhile since we have won here. Kevin (Gundaker) and everybody here does a great job with this track, they have built a nice facility here,” said the winner afterwards.

“With the rain they had this week, the track was pretty good, there were some rough patches in three and four. I tried to go above them but didn’t want to lose my momentum. I saw Jimmy once, and that really got me going. I have to thank Andy Durham of Durham Racing Engine, Ole Smoky Moonshine, Penske Shocks, Base Fuel, Lucas Oil Products, Hawkeye Trucking and all of my other sponsors.”

Bloomquist started on the outside of the front row and held a steady advantage for the entire race. Owens pulled close a couple of times after restarts, but could not maintain the pace that Bloomquist set. Bobby Pierce, who started 11th and was looking for his sixth straight win at Tri-City, made it up to third spot, but hit the wall on the 27th lap, ending his night. Pierce had been pressuring Owens for second when his solid run came to an abrupt halt.

Korte, in his final year of driving, came into the event as the tracks current points’ leader. He started eighth in the race and worked his way past Earl Pearson Jr. and O’Neal when Pearson broke on lap 34. Korte would finish a solid third at the checkers.

Completing the top ten were Billy Moyer, Brandon Sheppard, Brian Birkhofer, Eddie Carrier Jr. and Brian Shirley.