duquoinFriday, August 16, 2013 

(DuQUOIN Ill.) – NASCAR/ARCA veteran Ken Schrader has filed an entry for Labor Day’s (September 2) 60th running of the Southern Illinois 100 presented by Federated Car Care at the DuQuoin State Fairgrounds.

PZ7B8562Schrader won back-to-back ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards events on DuQuoin’s “Magic Mile” in 2006 and 2007.

“I can’t miss DuQuoin,” said Schrader. “That place is just too special for me. It’s one of the first tracks my daddy took me to when I was a kid. I remember sleeping in the back of his station wagon excited as could be. Got to see all my heroes race there. The place was special then, and it still is today.”

In addition to winning twice at DuQuoin, the Fenton, Missouri driver finished second in 2003, third in 2002, fourth in 2001 and eighth in 2004. He also earned two Menards Pole presented by Ansell awards in ’04 and ’06.

Schrader, entered in his own No. 52 Federated Auto Parts Chevrolet, is among a growing list of entrants for the annual stock car classic at the historic fairgrounds horse track, one that includes nine-time series champion Frank Kimmel, who has five wins at DuQuoin.

Only Tony Stewart’s victory in 2003 prevented Kimmel from sweeping five consecutive wins at DuQuoin.

“It’s been a few years since we’ve won one at DuQuoin, and we’re probably in our best shape ever to win again,” Kimmel said. “We’re definitely looking forward to it. The fairgrounds tracks hold special meaning for me. When you consider the names that have won there over the years, you can really appreciate the history of the place, when, back in the day, you had to do well at these places to win championships.”

Dean Roper is the all-time winner of the Southern Illinois 100 with six wins in ’81, ’83, ’83, ’86, ’87 and ’94.

The past winners list of the Southern Illinois 100 includes some of the most widely-recognized names in American motorsports. Jay Frank won the inaugural Southern Illinois 100 in 1950. Just some of the winners who would follow include Marshall Teague, Indy 500 winners Jimmy Bryan and AJ Foyt, Fred Lorenzen, Don White, Norm Nelson, Jack Bowsher, NASCAR champions Rusty Wallace and Tony Stewart, Bob Keselowski, Billy Thomas, Ken Schrader, Parker Kligerman, and most recently, Chris Buescher in 2011.

Practice for the September 2 Southern Illinois 100 presented by Federated Car Care is scheduled from 9:00-10:00 a.m. with Menards Pole Award Qualifying presented by Ansell following at 11:15. The 60th annual Southern Illinois 100 starts at 1:30 p.m. All times are local.

The event will feature live timing and scoring for all on-track activity at ARCAracing.com, as well as live flag-to-flag audio coverage of the race.