(TOLEDO, Ohio – November 27, 2013) – Lucas Oil Raceway will return to the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards schedule in 2014, series officials announced tonight.

Lucas Oil Raceway, located in Clermont, Ind., has hosted nine ARCA Racing Series events since 1971, the last being in 2012. The ARCA Racing Series will hold its race there July 25, 2014, the same weekend Indianapolis Motor Speedway will host events capped off by the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series’ Brickyard 400.

“The state of Indiana, and especially the city of Indianapolis, has developed a widely renowned motorsports identity, and racing at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indy brings our series into the heart of that atmosphere,” said ARCA President Ron Drager.

Lucas Oil Raceway is a .686-mile asphalt oval with 12 degree banking in the turns. The first race at the facility, about seven miles from Indianapolis Motor Speedway, was held in 1960. Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis sits on 267 acres of land and has three racetracks, the oval, a quarter-mile dragstrip and a 2.5-mile, 15-turn road course. It is the home of the NHRA U.S. Nationals, the most prestigious drag race in the world annually held on Labor Day weekend.

The first oval race held at Lucas Oil Raceway was held in 1961, on dirt, and won by A.J. Foyt.

“We at Track Enterprises are pleased to be bringing an exciting event back to Lucas Oil Raceway,” said promoter Bob Sargent. “It should be great for both the fans and drivers.

“Working with USAC and bringing two days of both ARCA stock cars and open wheel racing to Indianapolis should be great for everyone involved.”

Frank Kimmel won the most recent ARCA Racing Series event at Lucas Oil Raceway, in 2012. The Menards Pole Award presented by Ansell was won by recently-crowned NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion Matt Crafton.

Two-time Series champion Ramo Stott won the inaugural ARCA race at Lucas Oil Raceway in 1971. Ralph Latham followed as victor in 1972, and Bruce Gould was victorious in 1974. Nearly 10 years would go by before ARCA would return in 1983 when two-time Series champ Marvin Smith was the race winner. Bob Schacht won for the first time in 1984. In 1985, two ARCA races were on Lucas Oil’s schedule, with Schacht and Davey Allison claiming victories.

Richard Childress Racing’s Ty Dillon marked the return of ARCA to Lucas Oil Raceway in 2011, 26 years after ARCA had last appeared at the historic oval. Dillon holds the track qualifying record in an ARCA car.

“The track has a history of producing great, exciting racing and the ARCA Racing Series event Friday July 25 under the lights will surely add to that tradition,” Drager said. “Everyone associated with our series really looks forward to returning to Lucas Oil Raceway.”

For more information, visit www.LucasOilRaceway.com.