(Springfield, IL) One of the best fields of Sportsman cars in recent memory was on hand for the 2017 edition of the Sportsman Nationals at the Illinois State Fair.  Despite the strong contingent, the end result remained the same, as Lovington, IL driver, Jeremy Nichols became the third 5-time winner of the event.

While 21 drivers were on hand for the weekend, 19 took the green for the 20-lap event.  Nichols, who set quick time and won his heat, jumped out front early in the event and never looked back, claiming an unprecedented fifth win in a row at the mile track, during the Illinois State Fair.  Nichols and his team sold the car in the offseason to Rick Roedel, who asked Nichols to drive it to continue his streak, and that he did.

Nichols was followed at the stripe by Ethan Schnapp, Timmy Dick, Scott Williams, and Dennis Vander Meersch.  Vander Meersch and Wes O’Dell, were the only five-time winners before Nichols picked up the win on Sunday.  Nichols has now led 89 of the last 90 laps of the event.

Sportsman Nationals Results – 1. 11-Jeremy Nichols, Lovington, IL [1]; 2. 7S-Ethan Schnapp, [2]; 3. 22-Timmy Dick, [3]; 4. 112-Scott Williams, [7]; 5. 25-Dennis Vander Meersch, [5]; 6. 45-Don Hammer, [10]; 7. 98-Danny Smith, [8]; 8. 89W-Rick Weitekamp, [12]; 9. 8-Aaron Wilke, [13]; 10. Z23-Shawn Ziemer, [19]; 11. (DNF) 07-Phillip Moreland, [4]; 12. (DNF) 15-Jim Farley III, [14]; 13. (DNF) 18-Stefan Bedinger, [17]; 14. (DNF) 67-Rick – Redig Tackman, [9]; 15. (DNF) 56-Brandon Pralle, [20]; 16. (DNF) 10-4-Wade Wiseman, [11]; 17. (DNF) 500-Steve Adams, [21]; 18. (DNF) 44-Bill Berghaus, [18]; 19. (DNF) 17B-Tim Bedinger, [15]; (DNS) 44G-Shane Garrison, ; (DNS) 74-Rick Tackman,