TERRE HAUTE, Ind. – The Action Track lived up to its name during a two-day sprint car doubleheader that had the fans packed into the stands and on their feet with unbelievable racing.

After Donny Schatz won his 22nd feature of the season in the World of Outlaws and first of his career at the lightning fast Action Track Wednesday, Brady Bacon used a last lap pass to beat Robert Ballou to the line and take the checkered flag in the Jim Hurtubise Classic for USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Cars Thursday night.

The unique doubleheader for winged and non-wing sprint cars featured the sport’s biggest names, a celebration of Steve Kinser’s career and amazing racing.

2012-11-29 07.59.24

Schatz led all 25 laps in the World of Outlaws return to the track. The series made its first appearance at the half-mile Action Track for the first time since 2006. It’s already a big week for Schatz, who also won at Kokomo Speedway Tuesday.

“It’s been a great week for me,” Schatz said. “For two tracks to get off the bucket list that I’ve never won at feels really good.”

Joey Saldana, who won here in the Outlaws’ last appearance in 2006, finished second ahead of Brian Scott, Daryn Pittman and Kerry Madsen.

On Thursday, Bacon finally sealed the deal at the Action Track with a pass as the leaders hit the white flag.

“We’ve never finished off the podium here together (with Hoffmans), but it was frustrating to not get a win,’’ Bacon said. “It feels great to win one and do it in a great race where we had to take it away at the end. It got high in three and four, and I got beat staying up top the last race here, so I started trying something different down there. He had pulled away from me a bit, so I went to the middle and just kept trying to slow down and run lower and lower. I got by him just in time,” Bacon said.

The UMP Modifieds also raced in the doubleheader with a pair of first time winners at the Action Track. On Wednesday, Kent Robinson, of Bloomington, Ind., scored the victory, his first at the Action Track. On Thursday, USAC star A.J. Fike, of Galesburg, Ill., used a last-lap pass to earn his first Modified victory at the Terre Haute facility.



A-Main – (25 Laps) – 1. 15-Donny Schatz

[1] [$6,000]; 2. 71M-Joey Saldana [2] [$3,500]; 3. 21-Brian Brown [7] [$2,000]; 4. 9-Daryn Pittman [12] [$1,800]; 5. 29-Kerry Madsen [8] [$1,500]; 6. 2-Shane Stewart [9] [$1,400]; 7. 11-Steve Kinser [10] [$1,350]; 8. 11K-Kraig Kinser [11] [$1,300]; 9. 49-Brad Sweet [3] [$1,250]; 10. 7S-Jason Sides [16] [$1,200]; 11. 24-Rico Abreu [13] [$900]; 12. 18-Ian Madsen [20] [$800]; 13. 53-Christopher Bell [15] [$700]; 14. 51-Paul McMahan [6] [$650]; 15. 71MX-Paul May [23] [$600]; 16. 9W-Derek Hagar [21] [$550]; 17. 33-Danny Lasoski [14] [$500]; 18. 4-Cody Darrah [4] [$500]; 19. 83-David Gravel [5] [$500]; 20. 1S-Logan Schuchart [17] [$500]; 21. 5W-Lucas Wolfe [18] [$500]; 22. 59-Tim Kaeding [22] [$500]; 23. 4S-Danny Smith [24] [$500]; 24. W20-Greg Wilson [19] [$500]. Lap Leaders: Donny Schatz 1-25. KSE Hard Charger Award: 9-Daryn Pittman [+8]



AMSOIL USAC NATIONAL SPRINT CAR RACE RESULTS: September 18, 2014 – Terre Haute, Indiana – Terre Haute Action Track – “Jim Hurtubise Classic”

FEATURE: (30 laps) 1. Brady Bacon, 2. Robert Ballou, 3. Brady Short, 4. Shane Cottle, 5. Chase Stockon, 6. Dave Darland, 7. Bryan Clauson, 8. Tracy Hines, 9. Jerry Coons Jr., 10. Chris Windom, 11. Jon Stanbrough, 12. C.J. Leary, 13. Justin Grant, 14. Kevin Thomas Jr., 15. Hunter Schuerenberg, 16. Logan Jarrett, 17. Jarett Andretti, 18. Brandon Mattox, 19. Jac Haudenschild, 20. Chad Boespflug, 21. Bill Rose. 11:34.17


FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-28 Ballou, Laps 29-30 Bacon.

NEW AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT POINTS: 1-Bacon-1,623, 2-Darland-1,606, 3-Clauson-1.572, 4-Stanbrough-1,517, 5-Stockon-1,399, 6-Hines-1,276, 7-Windom-1,263, 8-Grant-1,260, 9-Ballou-1,207, 10-Leary-1,115.

NEXT AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT RACE: September 20 – Rossburg, OH – Eldora Speedway – 33rd “4-Crown Nationals”