(Du Quoin, IL) A huge weekend of racing at the Du Quoin State Fair, in Du Quoin, IL was highlighted by a great field of UMP DIRTcar Modifieds, including a couple of retired NASCAR Cup stars, Ken Schrader and Tony Stewart.  As expected, the two drivers were outstanding on the 1-mile oval, but Schrader had just a little more at the end to win, yet again, at the Magic Mile

For Schrader, it was status quo for what he has been doing at the track the last several years.  Since 2011, the Fenton, MO driver has won four of the five events and finished second to Brian Shaw two years ago.  Schrader was dominant last season and it continued this weekend, as he set a blistering lap in qualifying, dominated his heat, and jumped out front early in the feature.

That said, Schrader had a couple of worries in the back of his mind, Tony Stewart and Brian Shaw.  Both drivers had to start at the tail since they did not attend the Sunday preliminary festivities.  While Shaw, a five-time winner of the event, fell out early in the race, Stewart was no slouch, racing his way through the pack.

Stewart went high, he went low, and he diced his way through the middle trying to get to the front.  A few well placed yellows due to stopped cars and spins, worked out nicely for the Columbus, IN driver, giving him a shot at his “boss” for the event.  With Schrader restarting right in front of Stewart, many thought the race would be on for the win, but Schrader would again prove too tough at the Magic Mile.

For Schrader, it was his fifth victory overall and those have all come in the last six years.  Following the Federated Car Care #9 was Stewart, a comfortable margin behind, driving the Federated Team Car, 9s.  Tyler Nicely, JR Mason, and Steve Adams rounded out the top five.

Modified Bill Oldani Nationals Results – 1. 9-Ken Schrader, Fenton, MO [1]; 2. 9S-Tony Stewart, [26]; 3. 25-Tyler Nicely, [4]; 4. 83-J.R. Mason, [5]; 5. 500-Steve Adams, [7]; 6. 7H-Bryan Higgerson, [15]; 7. 77-Jim Shipman, [6]; 8. 89-Rick Weitekamp, [12]; 9. 71H-Jesse Hoskins, [9]; 10. 99-Bobby Burrows, [14]; 11. 4-Brian Heizer, [22]; 12. (DNF) 15L-Jim Farley III, [20]; 13. (DNF) 97-John Rathgeber, [19]; 14. (DNF) 1-Steve Stevenson, [11]; 15. (DNF) 82-Jeff Parks, [8]; 16. (DNF) 17W-Jesse Wisely, [25]; 17. (DNF) X-Jesse Snyder, [3]; 18. (DNF) 19-Terry James, [18]; 19. (DNF) CJ16-Rick Pauley, [17]; 20. (DNF) 17-Michael Jones, [16]; 21. (DNF) 1S-Brian Shaw, [27]; 22. (DNF) 21X-Christopher Winters, [13]; 23. (DNF) 16-Jared Dewrock, [10]; (DNS) 85G-Joseph Geisler, ; (DNS) 95-Josh Sissom, ; (DNS) 12-Chris King, ; (DNS) 9B-Charles Baker