Jim Hurtubise/Tony Hulman Classic To Close Out 2015 Season

USAC Sprints Terre Haute                After two months of silence, the Terre Haute Action Track roars back to life on Friday night, September 18 for the Jim Hurtubise/Tony Hulman Classic.  The USAC Sprint cars will be making appearance #2, while the UMP Mods are also on schedule for the final event of 2015 at the blazing fast half-mile.

Open wheel fans across the midwest are waiting for this show with much anticipation, as the last event at the Action Track was the Indiana Sprint Week show in July which provided great racing in front of a near capacity crowd.  19-year old Brookston, IN driver Aaron Farney used the highside of the half-mile to run away through the field, slicing through traffic, and capping it off with a spirited fist pump at the finish line.  It was Farney’s first career win, besting the field of 37 drivers on hand.

Looking back at the history of the Jim Hurtubise race, Brady Bacon won last year, while Jerry Coons, Jr. claimed the hardware in 2013.  Since the race came back in 2010, other winners include Jon Stanbrough, Chris Windom, and Chase Stockon.  The early years of the Hurtubise saw racing legend, Jack Hewitt take the first two victories in 1990 & 1991.  This year’s event will mark the 15th Jim Hurtubise named event.

Due to a rainout in May, the event will be co-named the Tony Hulman Classic.  The race name carries a rich history, as 44 previous events have been held.  USAC veteran, Dave Darland, won last year’s Tony Hulman race.  Other recent winners include Levi Jones (’08, ’09), Jerry Coons, Jr. (’10, ’13), Chris Windom (’11), and Bud Kaeding (’12).  Cary Faas and Levi Jones have the most wins with three apiece, while eight drivers have won two events.

Adding to the Friday, September 18 show will be the UMP Modifieds, a class which has been a UMP Mods Terre Haute
mainstay on the schedule for the last couple of years.  Three different events this season have produced three different Modified feature winners.  Kenny Wallace won the opener, Bradley Sterrett took the checkered at the Summit Modified National event, and Brian Shaw won on Sumar night.

Pit gates will open at 3:00, grandstands at 4:00, hotlaps will start at 6:00, qualifying at 7:00, and racing will take the green at 7:30.  General admission to the stands will be $25, infield admission $15, and children 10 and under are free.

More information on the season finale may be found at www.terrehauteactiontrack.net or www.trackenterprises.com.

USAC Jim Hurtubise Classic Winners

1990       JACK HEWITT

1991       JACK HEWITT

1992       RUSTY MCCLURE


1994       TRAY HOUSE

1995       JACK HEWITT

1996       KEVIN THOMAS

1997       J.J. YELEY

1998       TONY ELLIOTT


2011       CHRIS WINDOM

2012       CHASE STOCKON

2013       JERRY COONS, JR.

2014       BRADY BACON

USAC Tony Hulman Classic Winners

1971       GEORGE SNIDER

1972       BRUCE WALKUP

1973       JOE SALDANA


1975       PANCHO CARTER

1976       JAN OPPERMAN

1977       JAMES McELREATH

1978       DICK TOBIAS

1979       PANCHO CARTER

1980       EDDIE LEAVITT


1982       CHET JOHNSON

1983       JACK HEWITT

1984       RICK HOOD

1985       RON SHUMAN

1986       RICH VOGLER

1987       STEVE BUTLER

1988       STEVE BUTLER

1989       RICH VOGLER

1990       JEFF BLOOM

1991       ERIC GORDON

1992       CARY FAAS

1993       DAVE DARLAND

1994       CARY FAAS

1995       JACK HEWITT

1996       DOUG KALITTA

1997       J.J. YELEY

1998       CARY FAAS

1999       TERRY PLETCH

2000       JAY DRAKE

2001       TRACY HINES


2003       J.J. YELEY

2004       CORY KRUSEMAN

2005       LEVI JONES

2006       DARON CLAYTON


2008       LEVI JONES

2009       LEVI JONES

2010       JERRY COONS JR.

2011       CHRIS WINDOM

2012       BUD KAEDING

2013       JERRY COONS JR.

2014       DAVE DARLAND