A rare “double” is on tap Friday at the Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track as the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series returns to the half-mile dirt oval for the “Tony Hulman and Jim Hurtubise Classics.” The double was necessitated after rain forced postponement of the originally-scheduled “Tony Hulman Classic” during May.

Robert Ballou of Rocklin, Calif. continues atop the standings seeking his initial USAC championship. He has recorded nine feature victories this year and a victory this weekend could land him in exclusive company. Only Tom Bigelow (14 in 1977), J.J. Yeley (13 in 2003), Pancho Carter (12 in 1976 and 10 in 1977), Larry Dickson (12 in 1968 and 10 in 1970), Bubby Jones (11 in 1979) and Jay Drake (10 in 2000) have posted double-digit single-season wins in the National Sprint series.

Ballou holds a 24-point lead over Chase Stockon entering Friday’s race at Terre Haute. Dave Darland, the all-time series winner and defending “Tony Hulman Classic” champion, is third in the standings, just 52 back of Ballou.

Former “Tony Hulman Classic” champions Darland (1993 and 2014), Jerry Coons Jr. (2010 and 2013), Chris Windom (2011), Jon Stanbrough (2002 and 2007) and Tracy Hines (2001) are expected to compete Friday. Darland, Coons and Stanbrough are hoping to become only the third three-time race winner joining Cary Faas (1992-94-98) and Levi Jones (2005-08-09).

DATE: Friday, September 18, 2015

SERIES: USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship

TRACK: Terre Haute Action Track (Terre Haute, Indiana) – 1/2 mile dirt oval

EVENT: Jim Hurtubise/Tony Hulman Classic featuring the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Cars and UMP Modifieds

STARTING TIMES: Pits Open: 3pm Grandstands Open: 4pm Hot Laps: 6pm Racing: 7:30pm

TICKET PRICES: General Admission Grandstands: $25 Infield Admission: $15 Children 10 & Under: FREE!!

TRACK ADDRESS: 3901 US-41, Terre Haute, IN 47802

TRACK PHONE: (812) 232-4040 or 217-764-3200

TRACK WEBSITE: www.terrehauteactiontrack.net