A strong field of 22 Dirtcar UMP Modifieds lined up for the 23rd  Bill Oldani Memorial event at the DuQuoin State Fairgrounds on Sunday, September 4 as part of the Labor Day weekend full of racing at the one-mile facility.

As the original green dropped, a multi-car accident occurred entering turn one, eliminating a couple strong competitors from action.  Back to green, NASCAR personality, Ken Schrader, of Fenton, MO, raced out front and showed immediately he was the man to beat.  Many knew that, though, after Schrader set fast time on Saturday night and followed that up with his heat win in the Federated + Batteries #9.

Behind the veteran of dirt track racing, Jesse Snyder was putting on a show of his own holding second spot to his own.  Behind the X car was Josh Sissom, Terry James, and Jason Beaulieu.

As the laps wound down, it was Schrader claiming the top prize, after a second place run a year ago.  Snyder garnered an impressive second, staying within reasonable distance behind Schrader to keep him honest.  Sissom, James, and Beaulieu rounded out the top five.  The rest of the top ten were Steve Adams, Jim Shipman, Joe Giesler, Chris King, and Rick Weitekamp.

Bill Oldani Memorial – 1. Ken Schrader, 2. Jesse Snyder, 3. Josh Sissom, 4. Terry James, 5. Jason Beaulieu, 6. Steve Adams, 7. Jim Shipman, 8. Joe Giesler, 9. Chris King, 10. Rick Weitekamp, 11. Jared Dewrock, 12. Jesse Wisely, 13. Tyler Weiss, 14. Mike Jones, 15. Steve Stevenson, 16. Bobby Burrows, 17. Jeff Parks, 18. Mitchell Baker, 19. Cory Daugherty, 20. David Shain, 21. Curt Rhodes, 22. Danny Sissom